New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free California Genealogy and History Records Online

Search Free California Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Try our genealogy search engine

Free California Genealogy Records Online

California Census Records

California Genealogy By County

County County Seat Date Formed Origin
Alameda County Oakland 1853 Contra Costa and Santa Clara
Alpine County Markleeville 1864 Amador, El Dorado, Calaveras, Mono and Tuolumne
Amador County Jackson 1854 Calaveras
Butte County Oroville 1850 Original
Calaveras County San Andreas 1850 Original
City and County of San Francisco San Francisco 1850 Original
Colusa County Colusa 1850 Original
Contra Costa County Martinez 1850 Original
Del Norte County Crescent City 1857 Klamath
El Dorado County Placerville 1850 Original
Fresno County Fresno 1856 Mariposa, Merced and Tulare
Glenn County Willows 1891 Colusa
Humboldt County Eureka 1853 Trinity
Imperial County El Centro 1907 San Diego
Inyo County Independence 1866 Mono and Tulare
Kern County Bakersfield 1866 Los Angeles and Tulare
Kings County Hanford 1893 Tulare
Lake County Lakeport 1861 Napa
Lassen County Susanville 1864 Plumas and Shasta, and now defunct Lake County, Nevada
Los Angeles County Los Angeles 1850 Original
Madera County Madera 1893 Mariposa
Marin County San Rafael 1850 Original
Mariposa County Mariposa 1850 Original
Mendocino County Ukiah 1850 Original
Merced County Merced 1855 Mariposa
Modoc County Alturas 1874 Siskiyou
Mono County Bridgeport 1861 Calaveras, Fresno and Mariposa
Monterey County Salinas 1850 Original
Napa County Napa 1850 Original
Nevada County Nevada City 1851 Yuba
Orange County Santa Ana 1889 Los Angeles
Placer County Auburn 1851 Sutter and Yuba
Plumas County Quincy 1854 Butte
Riverside County Riverside 1893 San Bernardino and San Diego
Sacramento County Sacramento 1850 Original
San Benito County Hollister 1874 Monterey
San Bernardino County San Bernardino 1853 Los Angeles
San Diego County San Diego 1850 Original
San Joaquin County Stockton 1850 Original
San Luis Obispo County San Luis Obispo 1850 Original
San Mateo County Redwood City 1856 San Francisco and Santa Cruz
Santa Barbara County Santa Barbara 1850 Original
Santa Clara County San Jose 1850 Original
Santa Cruz County Santa Cruz 1850 Original
Shasta County Redding 1850 Original
Sierra County Downieville 1852 Yuba
Siskiyou County Yreka 1852 Shasta and Klamath
Solano County Fairfield 1850 Original
Sonoma County Santa Rosa 1850 Original
Stanislaus County Modesto 1854 Tuolumne
Sutter County Yuba City 1850 Original
Tehama County Red Bluff 1856 Butte, Colusa and Shasta
Trinity County Weaverville 1850 Original
Tulare County Visalia 1852 Mariposa
Tuolumne County Sonora 1850 Original
Ventura County Ventura 1872 Santa Barbara
Yolo County Woodland 1850 Original
Yuba County Marysville 1850 Original

If you know of a California Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us