New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free Ohio Genealogy Records Online

Capitol: Columbus

Search Free Ohio Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Our Ohio genealogy and family history page is a place where you can come in and research your genealogy and family history. We also do our best to provide a history of the area, to provide you with an overview of the time in which your ancestors lived.

We regret that we are unable to do personal research for you. All genealogical and family history records we come across are being added to this website. Please keep checking back.

Try our genealogy search engine

Free Ohio Genealogy Records Online

Ohio Military Records

Ohio Military Pension Records

Ohio Genealogy by County

County County Seat Formed Origin
Adams County West Union July 10, 1797 Hamilton County
Allen County Lima March 1, 1820 Shelby County
Ashland County Ashland February 24, 1846 Wayne, Richland, Huron, and Lorain Counties
Ashtabula County Jefferson June 7, 1807 Trumbull and Geauga Counties
Athens County Athens March 1, 1805 Washington County
Auglaize County Wapakoneta February 14, 1848 Allen, Mercer, Darke, Hardin, Logan, Shelby, and Van Wert Counties
Belmont County St. Clairsville September 7, 1801 Jefferson and Washington Counties
Brown County Georgetown March 1, 1818 Adams and Clermont Counties
Butler County Hamilton May 1, 1803 Hamilton County
Carroll County Carrollton January 1, 1833 Columbiana, Stark, Harrison, Jefferson, and Tuscarawas Counties
Champaign County Urbana March 1, 1805 Greene and Franklin Counties
Clark County Springfield March 1, 1818 Champaign, Madison, and Greene Counties
Clermont County Batavia December 6, 1800 Hamilton County
Clinton County Wilmington March 1, 1810 Highland and Warren Counties
Columbiana County Lisbon May 1, 1803 Jefferson and Washington Counties
Coshocton County Coshocton January 31, 1810 Muskingum and Tuscarawas Counties
Crawford County Bucyrus April 1, 1820 Delaware County
Cuyahoga County Cleveland June 7, 1807 Geauga County
Darke County Greenville January 3, 1809 Miami County
Defiance County Defiance April 7, 1845 Williams, Henry, and Paulding Counties
Delaware County Delaware April 1, 1808 Franklin County
Erie County Sandusky March 15, 1838 Huron and Sandusky Counties
Fairfield County Lancaster December 9, 1800 Ross and Washington Counties
Fayette County Washington Court House March 1, 1810 Ross and Highland Counties
Franklin County Columbus April 30, 1803 Ross and Wayne Counties
Fulton County Wauseon April 1, 1850 Lucas, Henry, and Williams Counties
Gallia County Gallipolis April 30, 1803 Washington and Adams Counties
Geauga County Chardon March 1, 1806 Trumbull County
Greene County Xenia May 1, 1803 Hamilton and Ross Counties
Guernsey County Cambridge March 1, 1810 Belmont and Muskingum Counties
Hamilton County Cincinnati January 2, 1790 One of the original counties
Hancock County Findlay April 1, 1820 Logan County
Hardin County Kenton April 1, 1820 Logan County
Harrison County Cadiz February 1, 1813 Jefferson and Tuscarawas Counties
Henry County Napoleon April 1, 1820 Shelby County
Highland County Hillsboro May 1, 1805 Ross, Adams, and Clermont Counties
Hocking County Logan March 1, 1818 Athens, Ross, and Fairfield Counties
Holmes County Millersburg January 20, 1824 Coshocton, Wayne, and Tuscarawas Counties
Huron County Norwalk March 7, 1809 Portage and Cuyahoga Counties
Jackson County Jackson March 1, 1816 Scioto, Gallia, Athens, and Ross Counties
Jefferson County Steubenville July 29, 1797 Washington County
Knox County Mount Vernon March 1, 1808 Fairfield County
Lake County Painesville March 6, 1840 Geauga and Cuyahoga Counties
Lawrence County Ironton December 21, 1815 Gallia and Scioto Counties
Licking County Newark March 1, 1808 Fairfield County
Logan County Bellefontaine March 1, 1818 Champaign County
Lorain County Elyria December 26, 1822 Huron, Cuyahoga, and Medina Counties
Lucas County Toledo June 20, 1835 Wood, Sandusky, and Huron Counties
Madison County London March 1, 1810 Franklin County
Mahoning County Youngstown March 1, 1846 Columbiana and Trumbull Counties
Marion County Marion April 1, 1820 Delaware County
Medina County Medina February 18, 1812 Portage County
Meigs County Pomeroy April 1, 1819 Gallia and Athens Counties
Mercer County Celina April 1, 1820 Darke County
Miami County Troy March 1, 1807 Montgomery County
Monroe County Woodsfield January 29, 1813 Belmont, Washington, and Guernsey Counties
Montgomery County Dayton May 1, 1803 Hamilton and Wayne Counties
Morgan County McConnelsville December 29, 1817 Washington, Guernsey, and Muskingum Counties
Morrow County Mount Gilead March 1, 1848 Knox, Marion, Delaware, and Richland Counties
Muskingum County Zanesville March 1, 1804[16][17] Washington and Fairfield Counties
Noble County Caldwell April 1, 1851 Monroe, Washington, Morgan, and Guernsey Counties
Ottawa County Port Clinton March 6, 1840 Erie, Sandusky, and Lucas Counties
Paulding County Paulding April 1, 1820 Darke County
Perry County New Lexington March 1, 1818 Washington, Fairfield, and Muskingum Counties
Pickaway County Circleville March 1, 1810 Ross, Fairfield, and Franklin Counties
Pike County Waverly February 1, 1815 Ross, Scioto, and Adams Counties
Portage County Ravenna June 7, 1807 Trumbull County
Preble County Eaton March 1, 1808 Montgomery and Butler Counties
Putnam County Ottawa April 1, 1820 Shelby County
Richland County Mansfield March 1, 1808 Fairfield County
Ross County Chillicothe August 20, 1798 Adams and Washington Counties
Sandusky County Fremont April 1, 1820 Huron County
Scioto County Portsmouth May 1, 1803 Adams County
Seneca County Tiffin April 1, 1820 Huron County
Shelby County Sidney April 1, 1819 Miami County
Stark County Canton February 13, 1808 Columbiana County
Summit County Akron March 3, 1840 Medina, Portage, and Stark Counties
Trumbull County Warren July 10, 1800 Jefferson and Wayne Counties
Tuscarawas County New Philadelphia March 15, 1808 Muskingum County
Union County Marysville April 1, 1820 Delaware, Franklin, Logan, and Madison Counties
Van Wert County Van Wert April 1, 1820 Darke County
Vinton County McArthur March 23, 1850 Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, and Ross Counties
Warren County Lebanon May 1, 1803 Hamilton County
Washington County Marietta July 27, 1788 One of the original counties
Wayne County Wooster March 1, 1808 From non-county area
Williams County Bryan April 1, 1820 Darke County
Wood County Bowling Green April 1, 1820 Refactored from non-county territory
Wyandot County Upper Sandusky February 3, 1845 Marion, Crawford, and Hardin Counties

If you know of a Ohio Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us