New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free Tennessee Genealogy Records Online

Search Free Tennessee Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Try our genealogy search engine

Free Tennessee Genealogy Records Online

Tennessee Genealogy by County

County County Seat Date Formed Parent Counties
Anderson County Clinton 1801 Knox and Grainger Counties
Bedford County Shelbyville 1807 Rutherford County
Benton County Camden 1835 Humphreys County
Bledsoe County Pikeville 1807 Roane County and Indian lands
Blount County Maryville 1795 Knox County
Bradley County Cleveland 1836 Indian lands
Campbell County Jacksboro 1806 Anderson and Claiborne counties
Cannon County Woodbury 1836 Rutherford, Smith and Warren counties
Carroll County Huntingdon 1821 Indian lands
Carter County Elizabethton 1796 Washington County
Cheatham County Ashland City 1856 Davidson, Dickson, Montgomery and Robertson counties
Chester County Henderson 1879 Hardeman, Henderson, McNairy and Madison counties
Claiborne County Tazewell 1801 Grainger and Hawkins counties
Clay County Celina 1870 Jackson and Overton counties
Cocke County Newport 1797 Jefferson County
Coffee County Manchester 1836 Bedford, Warren and Franklin counties
Crockett County Alamo 1871 Haywood, Madison, Dyer and Gibson counties
Cumberland County Crossville 1855 White, Bledsoe, Rhea, Morgan, Fentress and Putnam counties
Davidson County Nashville 1783 Part of North Carolina
Decatur County Decaturville 1845 Perry County
DeKalb County Smithville 1837 Franklin, Cannon, Jackson and White counties
Dickson County Charlotte 1803 Montgomery and Robertson counties
Dyer County Dyersburg 1823 Indian lands
Fayette County Somerville 1824 Indian lands
Fentress County Jamestown 1823 Morgan, Overton and White counties
Franklin County Winchester 1807 Rutherford County and Indian lands
Gibson County Trenton 1823 Indian lands
Giles County Pulaski 1809 Indian lands
Grainger County Rutledge 1796 Hawkins and Knox counties
Greene County Greeneville 1783 Washington County
Grundy County Altamont 1844 Coffee, Warren and Franklin counties
Hamblen County Morristown 1870 Jefferson, Grainger and Greene counties
Hamilton County Chattanooga 1819 Rhea County and Indian lands
Hancock County Sneedville 1844 Hawkins and Claiborne counties
Hardeman County Bolivar 1823 Hardin County and Indian lands
Hardin County Savannah 1819 Indian lands
Hawkins County Rogersville 1786 Sullivan County
Haywood County Brownsville 1823 Indian lands
Henderson County Lexington 1821 Indian lands
Henry County Paris 1821 Indian lands
Hickman County Centerville 1807 Dickson County
Houston County Erin 1871 Dickson, Humphreys, Montgomery and Stewart counties
Humphreys County Waverly 1809 Stewart County
Jackson County Gainesboro 1801 Smith County and Indian lands
Jefferson County Dandridge 1792 Greene and Hawkins counties
Johnson County Mountain City 1836 Carter County
Knox County Knoxville 1792 Greene and Hawkins counties
Lake County Tiptonville 1870 Obion County
Lauderdale County Ripley 1835 Haywood, Dyer and Tipton counties
Lawrence County Lawrenceburg 1817 Hickman County and Indian lands
Lewis County Hohenwald 1843 Hickman, Lawrence, Maury and Wayne counties
Lincoln County Fayetteville 1809 Bedford County
Loudon County Loudon 1870 Roane, Monroe, Blount and McMinn counties
Macon County Lafayette 1842 Smith and Sumner counties
Madison County Jackson 1821 Indian lands
Marion County Jasper 1817 Indian lands
Marshall County Lewisburg 1836 Giles, Bedford, Lincoln and Maury counties
Maury County Columbia 1807 Williamson County and Indian lands
McMinn County Athens 1819 Indian lands
McNairy County Selmer 1823 Hardin County
Meigs County Decatur 1836 Rhea County
Monroe County Madisonville 1819 Indian lands
Montgomery County Clarksville 1796 Tennessee County
Moore County Lynchburg 1871 Bedford, Lincoln and Franklin counties
Morgan County Wartburg 1817 Anderson and Roane counties
Obion County Union City 1823 Indian lands
Overton County Livingston 1806 Jackson County and Indian lands
Perry County Linden 1819 Humphreys and Hickman counties
Pickett County Byrdstown 1879 Fentress and Overton counties
Polk County Benton 1839 McMinn and Bradley counties
Putnam County Cookeville 1854 Fentress, Jackson, Smith, White and Overton counties
Rhea County Dayton 1807 Roane County
Roane County Kingston 1801 Knox County and Indian lands
Robertson County Springfield 1796 Tennessee and Sumner counties
Rutherford County Murfreesboro 1803 Davidson, Williamson and Wilson counties
Scott County Huntsville 1849 Anderson, Campbell, Fentress and Morgan counties
Sequatchie County Dunlap 1857 Hamilton, Marion and Warren counties
Sevier County Sevierville 1794 Jefferson County
Shelby County Memphis 1819 Chickasaw Nation lands acquired through the Jackson Purchase.[10]
Smith County Carthage 1799 Sumner County and Indian lands
Stewart County Dover 1803 Montgomery County
Sullivan County Blountville 1779 Washington County
Sumner County Gallatin 1786 Davidson County
Tipton County Covington 1823 Shelby County (previously Chickasaw lands)[10]
Trousdale County Hartsville 1870 Wilson, Macon, Smith and Sumner counties
Unicoi County Erwin 1875 Washington and Carter County
Union County Maynardville 1850 Grainger, Claiborne, Campbell, Anderson and Knox counties
Van Buren County Spencer 1840 Warren and White counties
Warren County McMinnville 1807 White, Jackson, Smith counties and Indian lands
Washington County Jonesborough 1777 Part of North Carolina
Wayne County Waynesboro 1817 Hickman County
Weakley County Dresden 1823 Indian lands
White County Sparta 1806 Jackson and Smith counties
Williamson County Franklin 1799 Davidson County
Wilson County Lebanon 1799 Sumner County

If you know of a Tennessee Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us