New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Macon County Illinois Genealogy and History

County Seat: Decatur

Try our genealogy search engine

Search Free Macon County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Macon County, Illinois genealogy and family history page is a place where you can come in and research your genealogy and family history. We also do our best to provide a history of the area, to provide you with an overview of the time in which your ancestors lived.

We regret that we are unable to do personal research for you. All genealogical and family history records we come across are being added to this website. Please keep checking back.


Macon County was formed on January 19, 1829, out of Shelby County. It was named for Nathaniel Macon, a Colonel in the Revolutionary War. Macon later served as senator from North Carolina until his resignation in 1828. In 1830, future US President Abraham Lincoln and his family moved to Macon County.


Cities: Decatur (county seat and largest municipality), Macon, Maroa.

Villages: Argenta, Blue Mound, Forsyth, Harristown, Long Creek, Mount Zion, Niantic, Oreana, Warrensburg.

Census-designated place: Boody.

Unincorporated communities: Bearsdale, Blackland, Bulldog Crossing, Casner, Elwin, Emery, Heman, Hervey City, Newburg, Oakley, Prairie Hall, Sangamon, Walker.

Townships: Austin, Blue Mound, Decatur, Friends Creek, Harristown, Hickory Point, Illini, Long Creek, Maroa, Milam (former, now defunct, after merger with Mount Zion Township), Mount Zion, Niantic, Oakley, Pleasant View, South Macon, South Wheatland, Whitmore.

Free Macon County Illinois Genealogy Records Online

If you know of a Macon County Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us

Adjacent Counties