New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Brown County Minnesota Genealogy

Founded: February 20, 1855 (created)

Named for: Joseph Renshaw Brown

County Seat: New Ulm

Try our genealogy search engine

Search Free Brown County, Minnesota Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Brown County, Minnesota genealogy and family history page is a place where you can come in and research your genealogy and family history. We also do our best to provide a history of the area, to provide you with an overview of the time in which your ancestors lived.

We regret that we are unable to do personal research for you. All genealogical and family history records we come across are being added to this website. Please keep checking back.


Brown County was founded in 1855 in the southwest corner of what was Minnesota Territory. It was named for Joseph Renshaw Brown, a member of the Governor's Council of the Territory in 1855. In 1857, Brown County was divided, creating Cottonwood, Jackson, Martin, Murry, Nobles, Pipestone, and Rock counties. Watonwan was broken off in 1860. Redwood was created from a large portion of Brown County in 1862. Redwood was further divided into Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon and Yellow Medicine Counties in the 1870s. In 1862, the county's 150-mile northern border was the boundary line of the Upper and Lower Sioux reservations when hostilities broke out. New Ulm, the county seat, came under heavy attack twice by a superior Mdewakanton Dacotah force that was repulsed. Most of the town was torched and most of the population fled to St. Peter and Mankato. The town took many casualties, with the dead buried in the streets. In 1863, when the treaties with the eastern Dacotah were annulled and the two reservations were dissolved, the county border was moved north 10 miles to the Minnesota River.


Cities: Cobden, Comfrey (partial), Evan, Hanska, New Ulm (county seat), Sleepy Eye, Springfield.

Census-designated place: Searles.

Unincorporated communities: Essig, Godahl (partial), Leavenworth.

Townships: Albin Township, Bashaw Township, Burnstown Township, Cottonwood Township, Eden Township, Home Township, Lake Hanska Township, Leavenworth Township, Linden Township, Milford Township, Mulligan Township, North Star Township, Prairieville Township, Sigel Township, Stark Township, Stately Township.

Free Brown County Minnesota Genealogy Records Online

Biographies Cemetery Records Census Records
Church Records Cities & Towns County Records
Family Bibles History Topics Military Records
Miscellaneous Data Newspaper Data Obituaries
School Records Vital RecordsWills/Probate Records

If you know of a Brown County Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us

Adjacent Counties