New Horizons Genealogy

"Specializing in New England and New York Colonial American Ancestry"

Search Free Oklahoma Genealogy Records Online

Search Free Oklahoma Genealogy and Family History Records Online including census, cemetery, vital, military and other genealogical and historical records that can be used for your family history research.

Try our genealogy search engine

Oklahoma Genealogy by County

Click on the name of the county, and see the genealogical and historical information it holds.

CountyFormedParent CountyCounty Seat
Adair County Stilwell 1907 Cherokee lands
Alfalfa County Cherokee 1907 Woods County
Atoka County Atoka 1907 Choctaw lands
Beaver County Beaver 1890 Seventh County (entire panhandle until 1907)
Beckham County Sayre 1907 Greer County and Roger Mills County
Blaine County Watonga 1890 Part of Cheyenne and Arapaho reservation.
Bryan County Durant 1907 Choctaw lands
Caddo County Anadarko 1901 Indian Territory
Canadian County El Reno 1901 Part of Cheyenne and Arapaho reservation
Carter County Ardmore 1907 Pickens County, Chickasaw Nation
Cherokee County Tahlequah 1907 Originally settled by Cherokee Indians following the Trail of Tears
Choctaw County Hugo 1907 Choctaw Nation
Cimarron County Boise City 1907 Seventh County (entire panhandle until 1907)
Cleveland County Norman 1890 County 3 in Oklahoma Territory.
Coal County Coalgate 1907 Tobucksy County, Choctaw Nation
Comanche County Lawton 1907 Kiowa, Comanche, and Apache reservation
Cotton County Walters 1912 Lands of Quapaws, Choctaws, Chickasaws, Comanche Reservation, and Big Pasture
Craig County Vinita 1907 Cherokee Nation
Creek County Sapulpa 1907 Creek Nation
Custer County Arapaho 1891 Cheyenne-Arapaho Reservation
Delaware County Jay 1907 Delaware District of Cherokee Nation
Dewey County Taloga 1892 Cheyenne-Arapaho Reservation
Ellis County Arnett 1907 Roger Mills and Woodward counties
Garfield County Enid 1893 Cherokee Outlet
Garvin County Pauls Valley 1907 Chickasaw Nation
Grady County Chickasha 1907 Pickens County, Chickasaw Nation
Grant County Medford 1892 Originally "L" county
Greer County Mangum 1896 Greer County, Texas
Harmon County Hollis 1909 GREER County
Harper County Buffalo 1893 Woodward County
Haskell County Stigler 1907 San Bois County of the Choctaw Nation
Hughes County Holdenville 1907 Choctaw Nation and Creek Nation lands
Jackson County Altus 1907 Greer County
Jefferson County Waurika 1907 Comanche County and part of Chickasaw Nation
Johnston County Tishomingo 1907 Chickasaw Nation land
Kay County Newkirk 1895 Cherokee Strip
Kingfisher County Kingfisher 1907 Unassigned Lands
Kiowa County Hobart 1901 Kiowa-Comanche-Apache Indian Reservations
Latimer County Wilburton 1907 Choctaw Nation land
Le Flore County Poteau 1907 Choctaw Nation
Lincoln County Chandler 1891 County A in Oklahoma Territory
Logan County Guthrie 1891 County 1 in Oklahoma Territory
Love County Marietta 1907 Pickens County, Chickasaw Nation, Indian Territory
Major County Fairview 1909 Woods County, Oklahoma Territory
Marshall County Madill 1907 Pickens County, Chickasaw Nation, Indian Territory
Mayes County Pryor 1907 Saline District, Cherokee Nation
McClain County Purcell 1907 Choctaw Nation land
McCurtain County Idabel 1907 -
McIntosh County Eufaula 1907 Choctaw Nation land
Murray County Sulphur 1907 Chickasaw Nation land
Muskogee County Muskogee 1907 Muskogee District of Creek Nation and part of Illinois and Canadian Districts of Cherokee Nation
Noble County Perry 1897 County P in Oklahoma Territory.
Nowata County Nowata 1907 Cooweescoowee District of Cherokee Nation
Okfuskee County Okemah 1907 Creek Nation land
Oklahoma County Oklahoma City 1891 Unassigned Lands in Indian Territory, the County 2 in Oklahoma Territory
Okmulgee County Okmulgee 1907 Creek Nation land
Osage County Pawhuska 1907 Contiguous with Osage Reservation
Ottawa County Miami 1907 Multiple tribal reservations in Indian Territory.
Pawnee County Pawnee 1897 Cherokee Outlet, then County Q in Oklahoma Territory
Payne County Stillwater 1890 County 6 in Oklahoma Territory in 1889, renamed to Payne County in 1907
Pittsburg County McAlester 1907 Choctaw Nation land
Pontotoc County Ada 1907 Chickasaw Nation
Pottawatomie County Shawnee 1891 Creek Nation and Seminole Nation lands.
Pushmataha County Antlers 1907 Pushmataha District of the Choctaw Nation
Roger Mills County Cheyenne 1895 County F in Oklahoma Territory
Rogers County Claremore 1907 Cooweescoowee District, Cherokee Nation, Indian Territory
Seminole County Wewoka 1907 Seminole Nation
Sequoyah County Sallisaw 1907 Sequoyah District and part of Illinois District, Cherokee Nation
Stephens County Duncan 1907 Comanche County, Oklahoma Territory
Texas County Guymon 1907 Seventh County (entire panhandle until 1907)
Tillman County Frederick 1907 Comanche County, Oklahoma
Tulsa County Tulsa 1907 Cherokee Nation and Creek Nation land.
Wagoner County Wagoner 1907 Cherokee Nation land
Washington County Bartlesville 1907 Cooweescoowee District of Cherokee Nation.
Washita County Cordell 1897 County H in Oklahoma Territory
Woods County Alva 1893 County M in Oklahoma Territory.
Woodward County Woodward 1893 County N in Oklahoma Territory

If you know of a Oklahoma Genealogy link that should be added to this list, please Contact us